Bush: Man on the Run

Released: October 21, 2014

It’s been twenty years since Bush gained major success with their classic album, “Sixteen Stone” and “Man on the Run” shows that this long-standing band still has its magic. This album follows 2011’s “The Sea of Memories” which I found to be the best album the band had put out in quite a while. It re-established this band making them relevant in the modern rock scene. While the album may have had mixed reviews, I would say it demonstrated the fact that this band is still good and remains relevant.

Man on the Run holds strong to who this band is. It sounds and feels like the classic band we heard in the 90’s and early 2000’s. I feel like the band re-established themselves with their previous album and build on that with this release. I can hear the influence of the bands earlier work in songs like “Man on the Run”, Bodies In Motion”, and “Loneliness Is a Killer” but for the most part the songs on this album stay more on the alternative side of things as opposed to the earlier grunge oriented sound. At the end of the day, this album sounds like Bush and I think fans of the band will enjoy it.

At the end of the day I would say this is a good album that works well as a follow-up to 2011’s “The Sea of Memories” and continues on with the path that Bush has taken. While they may not be as grunge oriented as they where in their earlier days, they manage to continue on with enjoyable music that, in my opinion, keeps them relevant. I wouldn’t say that this is the bands best album but I wouldn’t put it at the bottom of the list either, it makes for an enjoyable listen that rides well off of the previous release. If I had to put this in a list of the bands albums I would probably place it somewhere in the middle. That being said, I think this album is worth a try for fans of this band. You may or may not like it and for newcomers to this band I would advise checking out some of the bands other albums as well as this one.

Grade: B

Leave a Reply

