Smashing Pumpkins: Monuments to an Elegy

Released: December 5, 2014

Monument to an Elegy reminds me of Smashing Pumpkin earlier albums such as “Siamese Dream” and “Mellon-collie and the Infinite Sadness”. The album really takes on a life of its own from the first track, “Tiberius” which is one of the best tracks I have heard from this band in a while. The tracks that stand out on this album are “Tiberius”, “One and All”, “Drum + Fife”, and the final track “Anti-Hero” which finishes the album very well leaving me wanting more!

When I listen to this album I hear the same great band from those earlier albums. I hear some new elements thrown in the mix but nothing to vastly different. The album is enjoyable from start to finish and when it ends it leaves me wanting more. I feel like this album aids in the longevity of this band and manages to prove they are still a valuable asset to the rock scene. While I enjoyed the previous album, Oceana, I feel this album is much better and becomes so re-playable I find myself going back to the beginning at the end rather than listening to something else.

Grade: A-

Leave a Reply

