Jurassic World

If you grew up in the 90’s Jurassic Park was most likely a big part of your childhood that created a love and fascination with dinosaurs. The movie is now respected as a classic and spawned two sequels one being “The Lost World: Jurassic Park” and the not so great “Jurassic Park III” which fell way short of the greatness of the original. When I first heard about this movie back in 2012 I got very excited but kept my expectations in check because the original is such a masterpiece and probably won’t be topped. After seeing this movie this weekend I have to say that this is the best thing we could have asked for! While I’m sure the original holds a special place in the hearts of many, this one is on the same level of greatness as the original. But do note that I am not calling it better! That may be a dangerous thing to say.

Jurassic World shows us an up and running park with many great attractions and dinosaurs. I’m not going to go into detail on the plot and what happens so don’t worry about spoilers. This movie re-captures the magic of the original and gives some nostalgic nods that fans will love. I can recall a time or two when this movie gets so damn intense that you know they pushed the boundaries when it came to rating it PG-13. I think this one gets a little more intense than its predecessors while still maintaining an overall tone of wonder and awe. This movie breathes new life into this spectacular franchise and opens the door for more possible films in the future. But for now, I am very pleased that we got this magnificent movie. If you have somehow not seen the original 2 films I would highly recommend seeing them before this one for the back-story. If you go to one movie this summer, I think this is the one that should not be missed!

Grade: A+

Leave a Reply

