Country Music

Here we go…This post just has to be made. I will start off by first saying that there are many very talented country musicians who I appreciate and think are great. To name a few I will list; Tim McGraw, Alan Jackson, Kenny Chesney, Garth Brooks, Clint Black, and Brad Paisley. These are some respectably talented artists who write good music. Here comes the flip side…

I feel like in recent years the whole genre of country has turned to complete crap! some of the above artists put out a few good songs here and there but the genre as a whole has become so painfully bland and genaric I can’t see why people seem to think it is so great. It used to be but now it has become a lot more like generic pop music that you stop listening to when you reach adulthood because you can no longer relate to it and it becomes to bland. I will show you what I am talking about. Let’s look at some song lyrics…

“Little Jimmy Jackson is jackin’ up his Bronco.
He’s gonna lay a little rubber later on at the truck pull.” -Jason Aldean: Hicktown”

 “She’s a hot little number in her pick-up truck
Daddy’s sweet money done jacked it up
She’s a party-all-nighter from South Carolina, a bad mamajama from down in Alabama ”
-Jason Aldean: She’s Country

I can take you for a ride on my big green tractor
We can go slow or make it go faster
Down through the woods out to the pasture
-Jason Aldean: Big Green Tractor
… This sounds like a haiku written by a first grader who lives on a farm.

Yeah I’m chillin’ on a dirt road
Laid back swervin’ like I’m George Jones
Smoke rollin’ out the window
-Jason Aldean: Dirt Road Anthem

Let’s check out some more “artists”, this one already looks really genaric.

It was huntin’ and fishin’ and football games.
Then it was girls, and everything changed, in our lives,
Fallin’ in and out of love, we rode in trucks.
-Luke Bryan: We Road In Trucks

got that real good feel good stuff
Up under the seat of my big black jacked up truck
Rollin’ on 35s
Pretty girl by my side
-Luke Bryan: That’s My Kind of Night

So I’m gonna sit right here
On the edge of this pier
Watch the sunset disappear
And drink a beer
-Luke Bryan: Drink a Beer
This is just uninspired and bland…even if the singer tries to sound sad to pull listeners in…it’s just bad.

High beams, you and me
Little back road, barely see
Right song, radio
Throw it in low and drive slow
I saw you and it lit me up
A girl like you, it’s just too much
-Luke Bryan: Kill The Lights
Didn’t we just see this song a minute ago? Oh wait! It’s just the same formula Girl+truck+back road…

And it makes me wanna take a back road
Makes me wanna take the long way home
Put a little gravel in my travel
Rodney Adkins: Take a Back Road
…It’s all the same bland shit!

Rifle in a gun rack hanging in the back glass
Buck knife on my belt, ain’t no land for sale ’round here
Red clay country mud, sippin’ on a cold Bud
Blue tick coon hound you know where I’m found out in the
Justin Moore: Backwoods
…This is laughable

Guns, whether Remingtons and Glocks.
Come on man it ain’t like I’m a slingin’ ’em on the block.
I’m gunna tell you once and listen son.
As long as I’m alive and breathing,
You wont take my guns.
Justin Moore: Guns
Watch out everyone we have a bad ass here…

I’d rather ride in a Chevy truck than a Ferrari
Give me a cheeseburger
I ain’t eating no calamari
Kelly Pickler: Small Town Girl

What I find so funny is how often they need to reitterate that they are from the country or backwoods…well I looked into it. Kelly Pickler is from a smaller city, that’s right city, not town, a city. Anyways, I grew up in a town smaller than the one she did that had woods surrounding the area…I have no connection to any of this backroads, truck driving, spit chewing bullshit they sing about. I actually find this music very un-relatable coming from a smaller town even. This music is so bland that after hearing a few songs by various artist is honestly feels like you are listening to the same thing over and over. I’m not just talking about lyrical content either. The instrumentals in country music are painfully dull and repetetive. I can hear a little more variety in someone like Brad Paisley who can actually play a guitar pretty well but other than him…most of the instrumentals are repetetive and simplistic.

All country music does, especially today, is copy/steal song signatures of other genres and adding hick accents to songs that are poorly written. The music is very lacking in inspiration and creativity. It’s sad that people think that music like this is good, at all. Anyone can talk/sing in a southern accent, it’s not that hard. And I’m pretty sure I could easily write a poem down about backwoods, trucks, girls, and beer because honestly anyone who has made it to at least high school and gone through english class knows how to write a fucking poem. It’s not that hard. In general, as a whole, country music is bland, lifeless, sellout, copycat, shit that needs to just die…Sadly, people are to dumb to realize when they like shit. That’s why people like Lil Wayne are rich…

End Rant.

 

 

Leave a Reply

