Blink-182: Bored To Death

Blink-182 - Calfornia.jpg

Releasing: July 1, 2016

All week I have been waiting for Thursday to come. Tomorrow is the day blink-182 was supposed to release this new single but apparently someone at their record label accidentally uploaded the song to YouTube meaning to put up a teaser…Well, thanks to that person we got the new blink-182 single a day early! I myself was at the gym on a stationary bike when I pulled out my phone and went to the Reddit app and proceeded to the blink-182 sub…My heart began to race as I realized the song had been released a day early! I quickly found the YouTube video of the song and my ears jumped for joy! I have been so excited since the band brought Matt Skiba on board to replace Tom DeLonge and I was finally hearing the new sound!

My Thoughts…This track is a huge breath of fresh air from blink-182. Sure, Neighborhoods had it’s hype and excitement, and Dogs Eating Dogs gave hope to a revival of earlier sounding blink but that all fell through. This track (Bored To Death) takes me back, back to falling in love with this band in the mid to late 90’s, back to feeling such a deep connection to music that gets me, that connects so deep that it mind as well be the blood flowing through my veins. I probably looked kind of goofy getting tears in my eyes as I sat there on the stationary bike but this song hit me so good that I didn’t care. This is the blink I fell in love with, sure there is a new member taking the place of the old but the thing is, blink-182 has always been about the music, the youth, the passion, and the connection. This song has all of that.

I have been seeing other peoples reactions and one that sticks out is people saying it is hard to distinguish between Matt and Mark on the vocals…I guess, to an untrained ear it could be. I think this will fade with more listens. Matt Skiba brings a sort of contrast to the sound. We don’t hear the same high-low combination we got with Mark and Tom but, what we get instead is two great singers harmonizing and complimenting each other so well. Skiba’s voice is distinguished by a sort of rasp and the fact that it is just a notch higher than Mark’s. Now, on to the drums! Travis absolutely destroys on this song! His drumming has a sound that is full and big, and he adds his technical work so well. Check out the time markers 2:50 and 3:34. Let’s look at the guitar sound of Matt Skiba now! There’s no more bullshit stadium rock/space rock sound! Skiba delivers a straightforward, clean, old-school blink, sound! I love this! If you listen closely to the beginning of the song, the drums sound electric and the guitar almost sounds like something DeLonge would have done after his AVA venture. But, the song kicks it up a gear at :46 and we hear clean guitars, full drums, and great vocals! This song is a perfect single that gives us enough vocals from Matt Skiba to hear how well he fits into this amazing band. Below are the lyrics with who sings them and of coarse, the video with the song! Enjoy and listen as many times as you want!

[Verse 1: Mark Hoppus]
There’s an echo pulling out the meaning
Rescuing a nightmare from a dream
The voices in my head are always screaming
That none of this means anything to me

[Pre-Chorus: Mark Hoppus]
And it’s a long way back from seventeen
The whispers turn into a scream
And I’m not coming home

[Chorus: Matt Skiba + Mark Hoppus]
Save your breath, I’m nearly
Bored to death and fading fast
Life is too short to last long
Back on earth I’m broken
Lost and cold and fading fast
Life is too short to last long

[Verse 2: Matt Skiba]
There’s a stranger staring at the ceiling
Rescuing a tiger from a tree
The pictures in her head are always dreaming
Each of them means everything to me

[Pre-Chorus: Matt Skiba]
And it’s a long way back from seventeen
The whispers turn into a scream
And I’m not coming home

[Chorus: Mark Hoppus]
Save your breath, I’m nearly
Bored to death and fading fast
Life is too short to last long
Back on earth I’m broken
Lost and cold and fading fast
Life is too short to last long

[Bridge: Mark Hoppus]
I think I met her at the minute that the rhythm was set down
I said I’m sorry I’m a bit of a let down
But all my friends are daring me to come over
So I come over and over and over

So let me buy you a drink
And we’ll pretend that you think
That I’m the man of your dreams
Come to life in a dive bar
And we’ll go over and over and over
And we’ll go over and over and over
And we’ll go over and over and over
And we’ll go over and over and over

[Chorus: Mark Hoppus]
Save your breath, I’m nearly
Bored to death and fading fast
Life is too short to last long
Back on earth I’m broken
Lost and cold and fading fast
Life is too short to last long

[Outro: Matt Skiba]
Oh oh, oh oh
Oh oh, oh oh…

Leave a Reply

