My Top 20 of 2016

2016…yeah, about that. Well, here are my top 20 albums. Sorry if my list leaves something you think should be in there out. I have changed this list many, many, many times and this is the list I have come up with. There are probably some great albums from this year that I may not have heard yet as that seems to somehow happen every year but her are my top 20 albums of 2016!

 

20. NOFX: First Ditch Effort
Favorite Songs: Six Years on Dope, Sid and Nancy, Oxy Moronic, I Don’t Like Me Anymore, Dead Beat Mom.

19. Moose Blood: Blush
Favorite Songs: Pastel,  Honey, Sulk, Glow, Freckle

18. The Joy Formidable: Hitch
Favorite Songs: Radio of Lips, The Last Thing on My Mind, Liana, Blowing Fire

16. A Day To Remember: Bad Vibrations
Favorite Songs: Bad Vibrations, Naivety, Paranoia, Bullfight, Justified, Same About You

15. Bayside: Vacancy
Favorite Tracks: I’ve Been Dead All Day, Pretty Vacant, Rumspringa (Heartbreak Road), Mary.

14. Sum 41: 13 Voices
Favorite Tracks: A Murder of Crows (You’re All Dead To Me),  Goddamn I’m Dead Again, Fake My Own Death, War, God Save Us All (Death of POP)

13. Billy Talent: Afraid of Heights
Favorite Tracks: Big Red Gun, Afraid of Heights, Ghost Ship of Cannibal Rats, Rabbit Down the Hole, Time Bomb Ticking Away, Leave Them All Behind.

12. The Interrupters: Say It Loud
Favorite Tracks: By My Side, She Got Arrested, Babylon, On the Turntable, Control, Media Sensation, You’re Gonna Find a Way Out, Divide Us, Loyal.

11. (hed) p.e. : Forever!
Favorite Tracks: Liv!, Pay Me, Closer, It’s You, Jah Know,

10. Taking Back Sunday: Tidal Wave
Favorite Tracks: Death Wolf, Tidal Wave, You Can’t Look Back, I Felt It To, In The Middle of It All.

9. Thrice: To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere
Favorite Songs: Hurricane, Blood on the Sand, The Window, Wake Up, Black Honey, Stay With Me

8. Metallica: Hardwired…To Self Destruct
Favorite Songs: Hardwired, Atlas Rise!, Now That We’re Dead, Confusion, Spit Out the Bone.

7. Jimmy Eat World: Integrity Blues
Favorite Songs: You With Me, Sure and Certain, Pretty Girls, Get Right, You Are Free, Through.

6. David Bowie: Blackstar
Favorite Songs: Blackstar, Lazarus, Girls Love Me, Dollar Days

5. Green Day: Revolution Radio
Favorite Songs: Somewhere Now, Bang Bang, Revolution Radio, Still Breathing, Youngblood, Too Dumb To Die, Troubled Time, Forever Now, Ordinary World.

4. Deftones: Gore
Favorite Tracks: Prayers/Triangles, Doomed User, Gore, Phantom Bride

3. Red Hot Chili Peppers: The Getaway
Favorite Tracks: The Getaway, Dark Necessities, We Turn Red, Goodbye Angels, Go Robot, Dreams of a Samurai.

2. Weezer: White Album
Favorite Tracks: California Kids, Thank God for Girls, (Girl We Got a) Good Thing, Do You Wanna Get High?, King of the World, Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori, Jacked Up.

1. Blink-182: California
Favorite Tracks: Cynical, Bored To Death, She’s Out of Her Mind, Los Angeles, Sober, No Future, Kings of the Weekend, Left Alone, Rabbit Hole, San Diego, California.

This actually surprises me how high I put this album because when it came out I thought it was great but that it would possibly fade with time. I thought maybe I was just so hyped about this album that I was inflating it in my head and that I would go back a few months down the road and say “well, those few songs aren’t as good as I first thought”…I have actually found myself thinking higher of this album in the six months since it’s release. There is a reason it is up for the grammy for best rock album of the year. Some blink fans needed time to take this in and some still don’t like it just because Matt Skiba has replaced Tom Delonge…well, that doesn’t matter because this album is fan-fucking-tastic. This is the best thing blink-182 has put out since Enema of the State…I never thought I would be saying that! That is why this is my number one album of the year!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

