Stone Sour: Hydrograd


Hydrograd is the first album from Stone Sour since 2013. The band is, if you don’t know, fronted by Corey Taylor of Slipknot. This band is a place for him to tone things down a notch but there are definitely some moments of aggression that display his roots. This album has a lot of heart both in it’s lyrical content as well as the delivery of these songs. If you want an example of what I mean check out Song #3. We get some iconic Corey Taylor aggression on tracks like Taipei Persona/Allah Tea, Knievel Has Landed, Fabuless (which attacks reality TV stars), Whiplash Pants, and Somebody Stole My Eyes. If you want to hear something more along the lines of the bands hit single, Through Glass from 2006, check out St. Marie or When the Fever Broke. In the end, this album has a good balance of upbeat tracks, mellow tracks, and aggressive tracks. This is a pretty damn good rock album. I think fans of this band will love it and new listeners might just become fans themselves.

1. Ysif   4 stars
2. Taipei Persona/Allah Tea   4 stars
3. Knievel Has Landed   3 stars
4. Hydrograd   5 stars
5. Song #3   5 stars
6. Fabuless   4.5 stars
7. The Witness Trees   4.5 stars
8. Rose Red Violent Blue (This Song Is Dumb & So Am I)   4 stars
9. Thank God It’s Over   4 stars
10. St. Marie   5 stars
11. Mercy   4 stars
12. Whiplash Pants  
4 stars
13. Friday Knights  
4.5 stars
14. Somebody Stole My Eyes  
4.5 stars
15. When The Fever Broke   
4.5 stars

Grade: 88.0 (B)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s